Left 4 Dead 2 Demo Issues

If you’ve got it, you’ve got it. If you don’t, you don’t.

That’s pretty much how I sum up the demo. I’ve only managed to play it once (for 15 minutes, at lunchtime, at work, with bots) but I thoroughly enjoyed it. The new special infected are excellent, the new normal infected variants are fantastic (Including the kevlar clad riot-zombies who are a bastard to kill)¬† and the new weapons are meatier, funkier and gorier than before. I found myself a machette melee weapon (that replaces your pistol) and hacked my way through most of the first map.

The demo is fun to play, definitly, but I’d urge people not to pre-order it just yet (if all you’re doing it for is to get the demo) as there are issues with launching it.

I managed it as I started playing shortly after it was released, but when I got home I, and my friend, found that neither of us could launch the game (“This game is currently unavailible” error), even after restarting (logging in and out manually too) it refused to play. It seems that Valves servers are either taking one hell of a pounding, or someone somewhere’s put the wrong config up and that means we can’t decrypt our game to play it, or they’ve given us an incorrect file and it doesn’t realise it. Certainly, the steam forums were down most of yesterday too so there was no help until this morning, and it appears that I’m not the only one with the problem, and while there’s nothing official, there may be a fix

This entry was posted in Gaming, News. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Left 4 Dead 2 Demo Issues

  1. pitrelli says:

    The demo is alot of fun, I hate the ‘jockeys’ though. Dragon Age has me too busy to be looking/playing any other game (MMOs included) atm but once I’ve Completed DA:O a few times I may have a look at some FPS games for a change.

Comments are closed.